Lost in Translation

‘Everybody wants to be found.’

I have just watched the film ‘Lost in Translation’, and continued onto ‘the making of’, bonus scenes, and interviews with the writer and director, Sophia Coppola. I am now listening to the soundtrack. To be honest, I just can’t get enough – perhaps because the emotions in the film are exactly what I’m feelingright now.

The film is about two ‘lost souls’ in Tokyo and the alienation that they feel. It is as though they both have lost all meaning and purpose in their lives, but through each other they find mutual understanding. It is not a romance, but a mature and meaningful friendship. Right now, I am more feeling the alienation side of things. Weekends stuck inside my dorm room with nothing but homework and my Macbook as a portal to the outside world. But I feel like no one speaks my language – I am in my home country in a familiar place, so how come it feels like I am speaking a foreign language? Are we all lost in translation or do we have the universal ability to cross boundaries? I can’t make up my mind. My best friend is from Hong Kong and speaks four different languages and is very outgoing, yet even sometimes she must feel alienation like me and so many others?

Perhaps it is not which language we speak but what we say and how we say it.

In the final scene in ‘Lost in Translation’, Charlotte and Bob say an emotional goodbye, where an inaudible whisper is exchanged, which is meant to be the ‘secret’ of the movie. I know that secrets should be kept that way, but the internet claims that Bob says to Charlotte ‘I love you. Always tell the truth.’ I have only just found this out and it made me cry, for I realized that perhaps ‘the truth’ is all anyone needs; perhaps alienation is created through people trying to live behind a lie or to disguise some part of their identity. If everyone was completely truthful, would there be any barriers or any need for translation at all?

Leave a comment

Filed under Film, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

